The Pike County Health Department, Home Health & Hospice can issue certified copies of both Birth and Death Certificates for persons who were born or died in the State of Missouri. The certified copy has a raised state seal and may be used for all legal purposes. Birth records can be issued for births from 1920 to the present and death records issued from 1980 to the present. Records prior to those dates may be available through the Bureau of Vital Record in Jefferson City.
The fee for a certified copy of a Birth Certificate is $15.00 each. The fee for a certified copy of a Death Certificate is $13.00 for the first copy and $10.00 for each copy thereafter which is purchased at the same time. Effective March 1, 2011, applicants must show identification when requesting certified copies of a vital record at the state health department. Mail-in requests must be notarized by an acceptable notary public. Missouri law requires a non-refundable search fee for each five-year search of the files. If eligibility requirements are met and a record is found, applicant is entitled to certified copies. A statement will be issued if no record is found. FEE MUST ACCOMPANY APPLICATION. FEES ARE VALID FOR ONE YEAR. Check or money order payable to: Pike County Health Department Send to: 1 Healthcare Place, Bowling Green, MO 63334.
State recording of birth and death records began January 1, 1910.
Only certain persons are permitted to obtain copies of Birth and Death Certificates and should contact the Pike County Health Department, Home Health & Hospice for further information at (573) 324-2111.
The agency maintains a list of addresses and phone numbers for all other states where certificates may be obtained. Individuals may also obtain records by going on-line at www.vitalchek.com. Additional fees may apply.